Long Trail “Double Bag” Review (#068)

Review

Appearance: I enjoyed this Vermont beer in a tulip glass; it is a nice brown to coper color with a thin but sturdy white head.

Smell:A sweet smelling brew, giving notes of toffee and caramel as well as some fruity esters; as it warms, esters increase and show more signs of alcohol.

Taste:This is all about the malts; nutty with biscuit and breads, The yeast esters come through on the middle, with a caramel and toffee sweet drying finish which turns to more yeast as warming happens.

Mouthfeel:Chewy and and medium weight which is balanced nicely with the potent flavors.

Drinkability/Palitability:Medium. It starts off easy, but you slow down as the pint progresses. Very enjoyable to drink.

Notes: I love this; it is one of my favorite beers from Vermont. I thought it was a milk stout the first time I grabbed it – I was in a hurry and saw the cows, and mixed it up with Left Hand (shh, dont tell them). I read the bottle before I opened it, and thought it still looked promising. Boy was I right! This is one of my favorite go to beers now, and since it is widely available, I can suggest it to a number of people.

Leave a Reply

