Stone “Imperial Russian Stout” Review (#061)

Stone's Imperial Russian Stout

From The Brewery:

Brewed in the authentic historical style of an Imperial Russian Stout, this beer is massive. Intensely aromatic (notes of anise, black currants, coffee, roastiness and alcohol) and heavy on the palate, this brew goes where few can – and even fewer dare to try. The style originated from Czarist Russia’s demand for even thicker English stouts. Expect our version of this mysterious brew to pour like Siberian crude and taste even heavier!

First Release Date: July 2000
Hop Variety: Warrior
ABV: 10.5%
IBUs: 90+
Availability: Early summer in 22oz bottles and limited draft

Review:

Appearance: I poured this black beer, with hints of dark black, into a tulip glass, leaving plenty of room for the brown-tan head. The head disappears quickly – high ABV beers tend to – and leaves a thin lacing on the glass.

Smell: Huge roast; roasted malts and coffee, with some burnt sweetness and a bit of heat.

Taste:A full flavored brew; hits you up front with roasted coffee and malts, followed by a sweet flavor of molasses and yeast esters, finished off by a drying baker’s chocolate finish. There are many layers to this beer; as it progresses, its shows off more of the roasty sweetness as well as making the alcohol a bit more present, yet never overpowering. This is a palate bruiser.

Mouthfeel:Big – a rich, very full bodied beer. It is smooth and viscous without being too much.

Drinkability: Ridiculously high for a beer of this style. I LOVE RIS/IRS, and this one goes down very easy. I enjoyed the 22 oz bomber with dinner, and it was the perfect amount.

Notes: This is my first time having this brew, and I am going to be buying some again as soon as I hit Sam The Beer Man. It is awesome. I paired this with my home made Beef Vegetable Soup (recipe here) and it went amazingly. The beef and beer were great together, and I finished off the meal with some triple chocolate ice cream. This beer and chocolate is the perfect marriage.

Stone's Imperial Russian Stout paired with my home made Beef Vegetable Soup

One comment on “Stone “Imperial Russian Stout” Review (#061)

  1. […] I love slow cooked food – soups and stews are the best! I think that is why I love to make beer so much. This is a recipe for my Beef Vegetable Soup. I like the soup to have a bit of sweetness to the veggies and a peppery garlic pop to the meat and broth. Hope you enjoy! I paired this meal with Stone’s “Imperial Russian Stout”. My review of the beer can be found here […]

Leave a Reply

